Thailand Increases ‘Blue Zone’ Destinations to 26, Further Relaxes Nationwide COVID-19 Restrictions

Bangkok, December 1, 2021 – The Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) would like to provide an update on the latest Gazette announcement from the Royal Thai Government which further adjusted the color zoning for different provinces as of today, bringing the number of “blue zone” destinations from 17 to 26 provinces and see more COVID-19 restrictions relaxed nationwide.

This means that almost all businesses and activities in Blue Zone destinations can continue to open with “new normal” operations. These include all shops, convenience stores, markets, cinemas and theaters, sports venues, hair salons and hair salons, massage and spa shops, beauty and aesthetics clinics. and tattoo parlors. Restaurants and canteens can also resume normal opening hours. Meetings, events and fairs can also be organized normally without limitation on the number of participants.

However, all types of entertainment venues, including nationwide pubs, bars and karaoke shops, are to remain closed.

Similar easing measures for the blue zone provinces have also been extended to the 24 yellow zone provinces, with the exception of events and activities which must be organized with a number of participants limited to less than 1,000.

Provinces in the red and orange zones have also seen COVID-19 restrictions ease further, with shopping malls, markets, convenience stores and cinemas being allowed to return to normal hours. Restaurants and restaurants in the orange zone may resume normal hours while in the red zones must close at 11:00 p.m. The sale and consumption of alcoholic drinks for catering customers remain prohibited in the orange and red zones.

Meetings and events in red zones can be organized for less than 500 participants. Meanwhile, Orange Zone provinces can organize more engaging activities; such as sports tournaments, food fairs, etc. for a maximum of 1000 participants.

Thailand’s color zone for COVID-19 control as of December 1, 2021:

26 “blue zone” provinces withh Pilot tourist destinations

Central region: Bangkok, and Ayutthaya (Mueang District only), Kanchanaburi, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Phetchaburi (Cha-Am district only), Prachuap Khiri Khan (Mueang, Hua Hin and Nong Kae districts only), and Samut Prakan (Suvarnabhumi Airport only).

Eastern region: Chanthaburi (only for Mueang and Tha Mai districts), Chonburi (only for the districts of Bang Lamung, Ko Si Chang, Pattaya and Si Racha, and only for the sub-districts of Bang Sarey and Na Jomtien in the district of Sattahip), Rayong (only for Ko Samet), and Trat (only for the districts of Ko Chang and Ko Kut).

North region: Chiang Mai (Mueang, Chom Thong, Doi Tao, Mae Rim and Mae Taeng districts only), Chiang rai (Mueang, Chiang Khong, Chiang Saen, Mae Chan, Mae Fah Luang, Mae Sai, Phan, Thoeng, Wiang Kaen and Wiang Pa Pao districts only), and Loei (Chiang Khan District only).

North East Region: Buri ram (Mueang District only), Khon Kaen (Mueang, Khao Suan Kwang, Poei Noi, Phon, Phu Wiang and Ubolratana districts only), Nakhon Ratchasima (Mueang, Chaloem Phra Kiat, Chok Chai, Pak Chong, Phimai, Sikhio and Wang Nam Khiao districts), Nong khai (Mueang, Si Chiang Mai and Tha Bo districts only), Surin (Mueang and Tha Tum districts only), and Udon thani (Mueang, Ban Dung, Kumphawapi, Na Yung, Prachaksilpakhom and Nong Han districts only).

South region: Krabi, Phang-Nga, Phuket, Ranong (Ko Phayam only), and Surat Thani (Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan and Ko Tao only).

24 areas under strict surveillance or provinces of the yellow zone

North region: Kamphaeng Phet, Loei *, Nakhon Sawan, Nan, Phayao, Phichit, Phrae, Sukhothai, Uthai Thani and Uttaradit, and North East Region: Amnat Charoen, Bueng Kan, Buri Ram *, Kalasin, Maha Sarakham, Mukdahan, Nakhon Phanom, Nong Bua Lamphu, Nong Khai *, Roi Et, Sakhon Nakhon, Si Sa Ket, Surin *, and Yasothon.

23 controlled zones or provinces of the orange zone

Central region: Ang Thong, Chai Nat, Lop Buri, Nakhon Nayok, Nakhon Pathom, Phetchaburi *, Ratchaburi, Samut Prakan *, Samut Sakhon, Samut Songkhram, Sing Buri, Suphan Buri; Eastern region: Chachoengsao and Chonburi *; North region: Lampang, Lamphun, Mae Hong Son, Phetchabun and Phitsanulok; North East Region: Chaiyaphum, Udon Thani *, and Ubon Ratchathani, and South region: Ranong *.

23 strict controlled zones or provinces of the red zone

Central region: Ayuthaya * and Prachuap Khiri Khan *; Eastern region: Chanthaburi *, Prachinburi, Rayong *, and Treaty*; North region: Chiang Mai * and Chiang Rai *; North East Region: Khon Kaen *, Nakhon Ratchasima *, Sa Kaeo and Saraburi, and South region: Chumphon, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Narathiwat, Pattani, Phatthalung, Satun, Songkhla, Surat Thani *, Trang and Yala.

* Except for areas designated as pilot tourist destinations “Blue Zone”.

This press release is for reference only, and it is especially important to check regularly to stay on top of what remains a very fluid and rapidly changing situation.

Thailand Post increases ‘blue zone’ destinations to 26, relaxes more COVID-19 restrictions nationwide, appeared first on TAT newsroom.

Read more here

Previous Toyota Gazoo racing through the streets of Phuket Town
Next Give the gift of experience this holiday season